AAPG ERC Cyprus 2017

Conference Co-Chairs

Raffaele di Cuia, G.E. Plan Consulting s.r.l. 

Raffaele Di Cuiaholds a first class degree in Earth Sciences (University of Ferrara, Italy) and an MSc in Basin Analysis and Evolution (Royal Holloway College - University of London).

Raffaele is presently Partner and Technical Director of G.E.Plan Consulting s.r.l. in Ferrara, (Italy) a consulting company specialized in the characterization of complex reservoirs and he has previously held technical positions with TOTAL S.A. (France), FINA E&P (Italy) and Arco British (UK). Raffaele has 19 years experience in E&P industry and he has mainly worked on projects about the characterization of fractured reservoirs. He has worked extensively in the Middle East, Europe and Africa mainly in carbonate fractured reservoirs.

Raffaele runs several training courses on “complex carbonate reservoir characterization” and on “structural geology in carbonate rocks” and was chairman of the AAPG conference on “Mesozoic and Cenozoic carbonates of the Neo-Tethys: old and new concepts for petroleum exploration” held in 2014 in Naples.


Hamed Harby, ENI

Hamed Harby received a degree in Geology at Alexandria University, Egypt in 1978 and a Diploma of Post Graduate in Geophysics in 1982. 

Hamed joined Eni, IEOC, Cairo in 1982 as Geophysicist. In 1991 he moved to Eni HQ in Italy as an Explorationist. Starting from 1994, he worked as Exploration Project Leader in IEOC, Cairo. 

In 2002, Hamed joined Petrobel (Joint venture Company) as Eni representative in the position of Prospects Generation General Manager. Then, in 2003, he came back to the HQ as Global Exploration Advisor for Eni worldwide exploration. From 2006 worked as Exploration Project Manager in IEOC. 

From 2008 to 2016 Hamed occupied the position of Deputy Exploration Manager in IEOC. and he is currently Exploration Advisor at Eni, Italy.

Technical Committee

Thomas Twigg

Lilit Cota

Davide DiBiase


Carmine Silenziario

Gwenael Guerin

Jean Francois Mengual
Saudi Aramco

Paul Fink 

Ahmed Abdel Aal
Dana GAS

Alessandro Barberis
Eni Cyprus

Dr. Tharwat Abel Fattah

Alexandria University

Nader Fadi Henri
IFP, France

Michael Gardosh
Ministry of Energy, Israel

Enrico Ceragioli